Modern Commandments of Taekwondo

Modern Commandments of Taekwondo

Incorporated the Hwarang codes of honor as seen above. The Hwarang codes gave rise to the five tenets of taekwondo. The following are some of the modern commandments that were incorporated into modern taekwondo:


1. Courtesy (Ye Ui)

In every dojang, courtesy is a must. Students are required to bow when entering and leaving the studio as a sign of respect to where they train. The students should also bow to other students and instructors when they greet them. It is also seen as a basic courtesy to let other students speak and not to interrupt them. The main aim of this tenet is to get students to respect other people even though they do not get the same respect from them.


2. Integrity (Yom chi)

Integrity in taekwondo involves the students choosing to do the right thing. For instance, if they find that another student is unable to improve on their moves, they should take time and help them out. Integrity also dictates that you do not steal students away from other studios. This integrity trait extends into the lives of students outside of the dojang because they remain considerate and honest with their co-workers, friends, and family.


3. Perseverance (In Nae)

Anyone who has ever attended a taekwondo class knows how difficult and frustrating it can be. This is because it involves a lot of physical activity such as push-ups, kicking, strength training, etc. There are many patterns and techniques to practice and most of them are not easy to master. The student may endure frustration simply because they do not seem to be getting a certain pattern right. Taekwondo teaches perseverance and encourages students to overcome their frustrations. If a student can persevere and get a black belt, then they can get through anything in life.


4. Self-control (Guk ki)

Taekwondo teaches students how to control their punches and kicks so that they do not harm their opponents. Similarly, it teaches students self-defense. The kicks and punches learned should not be used on other people as a means to attack them. Students also learn how to diffuse a verbal attack and prevent it from blowing up into a fight. They learn when to hold back and when to defend themselves.


5. Indomitable spirit (Baekjool Boolgool)

No matter how difficult a task is students are taught to never give up. For instance, students are asked to break through stacks of blocks as a way for them to develop indomitable spirits. This principle helps them in real life situations such as aiming to get a job or a promotion or succeed in rekindling lost friendships and relationships. The indomitable spirit never gives up and tries over and over until it can achieve what it wants.